Simple Kinetic Type for a Newbie

Starting out with simply type sometimes can be a lot harder than if you have images to work with. They say a blank canvas is a designers worst nightmare…but last week it was my blank After Effects screen! But after some deep breaths and some chocolate, I went to YouTube for inspiration (good old YouTube) and I found this video by Peter Varadi called IKEA. It was his first Kinetic Type project as well, and I think because he kept to basics, it was a success. It worked with the music, timing was good and he played with certain words but just kept it simple for his first try.

It’s really just type and colours, but it was a really great reference for me starting out. I look at some much more complicated videos which I’ll talk about for other reasons because they were AMAZING, but I wanted to start here, because getting back to basics, really helps the task to be less daunting.

I found that by concentrating on simple letterforms and colour really helped me to start my project and bring out the main elements even just picking a typeface that works well with my subject. Then once you get comfortable with the key elements, you can turn to more advanced layouts and movements. If you don’t have the basics down, the entire project can become a bit of a disaster because there’s just too much choice out there!

So thanks Peter Varadi,for helping me to keep calm, carry on…and to focus on first things first. Enjoy the video!

IKEA by Peter Varadi

IKEA by Peter Varadi

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.49.53 PM

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.50.23 PM

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.50.52 PM

Screen Shot 2013-02-11 at 9.53.15 PM

Leave a Reply

